Coordinated Entry System

Press Conference CE slide show

Evansville is one of four Indiana cities to implement Phase One of a new homelessness initiative called Coordinated Entry. It is designed to help address and support the area’s chronically homeless population.

Coordinated Entry is a new process being adopted in states across the country, whereby all social service providers – particularly those who work with the homeless community – identify, assess, and resolve homelessness by coordinating the use of housing and other local resources for the homeless. Put simply, providers now will coordinate entry into the system of services for the homeless, instead of having multiple points of entry for the same person or family. Phase One focuses on chronically homeless individuals with the most need for supportive services to bring them into permanent housing.

“Evansville is proud to have been selected for this distinct honor, based on our long history of providing progressive leadership and inter-agency cooperation in our efforts to prevent and end homelessness,” said Mayor Winnecke. “For more than a decade, our community has made the issue of homelessness a priority across multiple sectors, and have addressed it through the work of the Commission on Homelessness and committed professionals and volunteers. As we move forward with Coordinated Entry, the great collaborative work of our local organizations will serve as a model for other communities working to end homelessness in Indiana and across the country.”

Area homeless service agencies Aurora, Inc. and ECHO Housing Corporation will provide staff support for the community’s Phase One pilot implementation of Coordinated Entry. This includes identifying and finding the most vulnerable members of the local homeless population and matching them with the supportive services necessary to bring them into permanent housing. This includes intake, assessments and maintenance of waiting lists. Their work is being done in conjunction with the Indiana Housing and Community Development Authority and the Balance of State Continuum of Care, as well as the Corporation for Supportive Housing. The other Indiana Phase One communities are Bloomington, Ft. Wayne and Lafayette.